Current Legislation

One Percent Spending Reduction Act of 2011 (HR 1848/S. 1316)

Congressman Connie Mack (FL) introduced the One Percent Spending Reduction Act of 2011 (HR 1848/S. 1316) on May 11 in Washington D.C. A Senate companion bill was introduced by Senator Mike Enzi (WY) on June 30. Coined the “Penny Plan” on Capitol Hill, this historic legislation achieves the goals of the One Cent Solution by reducing federal spending by one percent per year for six years (2012-17). Further, in the seventh year, 2018, federal spending would then be capped at 18 percent of Gross Domestic Product (GDP), to bring future spending in line with future revenues. Since 1980, federal revenues have averaged 18 percent of GDP, the value of all the goods and services produced in the U.S. in one year.

Play video >Screenshot from video
Rep. Connie Mack introduces 1% spending reduction bill

The positive results of this legislation are substantial:

  • The federal budget is balanced by 2019.
  • Federal spending is cut by $7.5 trillion over 10 years.

The legislation calls for:

  1. Spending caps on total government spending (both discretionary and entitlement) equal to a one percent reduction in spending each year for six years.
  2. Congressional action to reform spending programs to meet the One Percent caps. In meeting the caps, Congress may cut some programs more than 1 percent and some less, as long as total government spending is reduced by 1 percent each year for six years;
  3. If Congress fails to enact the needed reforms, then mandatory, “across the board” spending cuts occur each year to bring spending reductions into line with the One Percent spending caps.
  4. Starting in the seventh year (2018) and thereafter, the bill caps overall spending at 18 percent of Gross Domestic Product (GDP) to ensure that it is line with expected future revenues. (Historically, federal revenues have averaged 18 percent of GDP.)

Find out more on how the One Percent Spending Reduction Act of 2011 compares to other budget plans.

One Cent Solution has made it easy for you to contact your member of Congress in support of the “Penny Plan” legislation.

Contact Congress

Support for the “Penny Plan” in the House

HR 1848, the One Percent Spending Reduction Act of 2011, currently has 71 cosponsors in the House of Representatives:

Spencer Bachus (R, AL-6)

Jeff Flake (R, AZ-6)
Trent Franks (R, AZ-2)

John Campbell (R, CA-48)
Jeff Denham (R, CA-19)
Mary Bono Mack (R, CA-45)
Gary G. Miller (R, CA-42)
Dana Rohrabacher (R, CA-46)

Sandy Adams (R, FL-24)
Vern Buchanan (R, FL-13)
Connie Mack (R, FL-14) (Sponsor)
John Mica (R, FL-7)
Jeff Miller (R, FL-1)
Richard Nugent (R, FL -5)
Bill Posey (R, FL-15)
David Rivera (R, FL-25)
Tom Rooney (R, FL-16)
Dennis Ross (R, FL-12)
Steve Southerland (R, FL-2)
Cliff Stearns (R, FL-6)
Allen West (R, FL-22)

Paul Broun (R, GA-10)
Phil Gingrey (R, GA-11)
Austin Scott (R, GA-8)
Lynn Westmoreland (R, GA-3)

Dan Burton (R, IN-5)
Todd Rokita (R, IN-4)
Marlin Stutzman (R, IN-3)

Steve King (R, IA-5)

Mike Pompeo (KS-4)
Kevin Yoder (KS-3)

Geoff Davis (KY-4)

Jeff Landry (R, LA-3)

Roscoe Bartlett (R, MD-6)

Dan Benishek (R, MI-1)
Bill Huizenga (R, MI-2)
Tim Walberg (R, MI-7)

Sam Graves (R, MO-6)
Blaine Leutkemeyer (R, MO-9)

Lee Terry (R, NE-2)

New Jersey
Scott Garrett (R, NJ-5)

New Mexico
Steve Pearce (R, NM-2)

North Carolina
Howard Coble (R, NC-6)
Virginia Foxx (R, NC-5)
Patrick McHenry (R, NC-10)
Sue Myrick (R, NC-9)

Jim Jordan (R, OH-4)

John Sullivan (R, OK-1)

South Carolina
Jeff Duncan (R, SC-3)
Trey Gowdy (R, SC-4)
Mick Mulvaney (R, SC-5)
Tim Scott (R, SC-1)
Joe Wilson (R, SC-2)

South Dakota
Kristi Noem (R, SD)

Marsha Blackburn (R, TN-7)
Scott Desjarlais (R, TN-4)
John Duncan, Jr. (R, TN-2)
Charles J. Fleischmann (R, TN-3)

Joe Barton (R, TX-6)
Blake Farenthold (R, TX-27)
Louie Gohmert (R, TX-1)
Sam Johnson (R, TX-3)
Kenny Marchant (R, TX-24)
Randy Neugebauer (R, TX-19)
Ted Poe (R, TX-2)
Pete Sessions (R, TX-32)
Mac Thornberry (R, TX-13)
Michael T. McCaul (R, TX-10)

Jason Chaffetz (R, UT-3)

Reid Ribble (R, WI-8)

Cynthia Lummis (R, WY)

Support for the “Penny Plan” in the Senate

S. 1316, the One Percent Spending Reduction Act of 2011, recently introduced in the Senate, currently has 14 cosponsors:

Marco Rubio (R)

Saxby Chambliss (R)
Johnny Isakson (R)

Mike Crapo (R)

David Vitter (R)

Jerry Moran (R)

Rand Paul (R)

Mike Johanns (R)

Pat Toomey (R)

Kay Bailey Hutchison (R)

Orrin Hatch (R)
Mike Lee (R)

John Barrasso (R)
Mike Enzi (R) (Sponsor)

The congressman is showing great leadership on the most important domestic issue of our time, and we are asking all of our supporters to tell their representatives in Washington to sponsor — and vote for — the One Percent Spending Reduction Act of 2011.

Bruce Cook, founder of the One Cent Solution